Today, 16 November 2018 sees the official release of a brand new STRAATLIGKINDERS album, entitled VERDWYN. The album, the band’s first new offering in 6 years, comes after the release of the first single from the album, WONDER, on 2 November.

The album was recorded in the band’s town of origin, Potchefstoom, as well as Johannesburg and Pretoria from August this year. The first song on the album was written in June by frontman Bouwer Bosch, and immediately the music portrayed a new direction for the band. The band continued to write the rest of the album for the following 3 months, with recording taking a total of 6 weeks. For the album, the band chose to work with 7 producers, namely Ewald Jansen van Rensburg, Carlo de Villiers, Rudolph Willemse, Peach van Pletzen, Stefan Swart, Bouwer Bosch and Johan Oelofsenn.

“The inspiration for the album was time. How much time changes people, changes life and perspectives. How we grew as people.” – Bouwer Bosch.

A recurrent inspiration throughout the album was the life experiences of the band members throughout the last 6 years and all the changes which come with growing up. STRAATLIGKINDERS describe their main challenge with the new album as the quest to marry their heavy rock sound with more popular pop angles and melodies heard on radio today.

“When it comes to music, it’s not about selling out, it’s about buying in so we decided to make music without compromising on our voice and what we want to say. Growing older you have to unlearn a lot of stuff from your younger years, so unlearning was a big part of this album with regards to the way we thought about songwriting and recording. We we just open to do things differently this time.” says Bouwer.

Wanting to serve the songs rather than serving themselves, the signature STRAATLIGKINDERS raw and emotional lyrics as well as melodies are still present on the band’s 6th studio offering. They are known to write with their hearts on their sleeves and have always prided themselves in their guitar hooks and big drum sound, as can still be heard on VERDWYN. Fans can look forward to catchy, honest, raw and relevant music – some of the most personal songs the band have written in their career thus far.

VERDWYN Track Listing

1. Verkyker
2. Dorings
3. Nikodemus (feat. Hemelbesem)
4. Woord Vir Woord
5. Wonder
6. Herinner (feat. Lucinda Neethling)
7. Krake
8. Wvk
9. Sak Sarel
10. Verdywn
11. Ek Wil Jou Nooit Weer Sien
12. Verdwyn (Unplugged)
13. Verkyker (Unplugged)


Get VERDWYN online

Watch the first music video from the album for WONDER



Date: Saturday, 24 November 2018
Venue: Platteland, Centurion
Time: 19H00
Price: R70 – R130
Buy tickets